UIUC Team Wins Third Place at Midwest Model EU Competition



The University of Illinois team won the third place award at the Midwest Model EU at Indiana University representing Greece this weekend. Illinois students also received several individual awards: Maha Kalota (Political Science, English) won the first prize for her work in the Environment Council, Angitha Bright (Political Science, Brain and Cognitive Science, Philosophy, Computer Science) the second prize in the Foreign Affairs Council, and Dennis Austin (Political Science) the third prize as Prime Minister in the European Council. Chieh Hsu (Physics, Global Studies), Nathaniel O’Halloran (Political Science, History), and Paula Suarez de Cepeda Garcia (International Relations and Foreign Affairs) also performed exceptionally well in the roles of European Commissioner, Economic and Finance Minister, and Justice and Home Affairs Minister. Model European Union is a simulation of several EU institutions in which close to 30 universities from across the US participate. It is organized by the Institute for European Studies at Indiana University. Professor Kostas Kourtikakis (Political Science) selected and mentored the Illinois team. The European Union Center provided financial support.

Model EU 1
Photo: Kostas Kourtikakis

For more photos from the competition, please visit the EU Center blog.