The European Union Center is excited to announce the results of the 2023-24 Illinois High School Translation Competition. Fifty students from 30 schools in Illinois participated in the competition and translated an advanced-level text from Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Polish, Swedish, or Ukrainian into English. This year students in all language divisions translated an excerpt from a work of contemporary literature. The EU Center would like to commend all of the participants for their interest in language study and translation and thank the 12 judges who scored the submissions: Anne-Marie Andreasson-Hogg (Swedish), Sofiya Asher (Ukrainian), Eufemia Baldassarre (Italian), Chad Eric Bergman (Swedish), Soraya Cipolla (Italian), Mina Giannoula (Greek), Roman Ivashkiv (Ukrainian), Dora Kourkoulou (Greek), Adi Mechany (Hebrew), Anna Romaniuk (Polish), Ido Telem (Hebrew), and Ewa Wierzynska (Polish).

Congratulations to the following students who received first place and honorable mentions! The staff at the European Union Center and the Italian Cultural Institute, along with Consul General of Italy in Chicago, Thomas Botzios, look forward to celebrating your achievement at an award ceremony at the Italian Cultural Institute in Chicago on Friday, December 8, 2023.

Greek-English Division

Winner: Ariadni Bissia, Buffalo Grove High School

Honorable mention: Anastasia Manasses, Chicago Christian High School

Hebrew-English Division

Winner: Maya Viswanathan, University Laboratory High School

Honorable mention: Ori Hoch-Stein, Niles North High School

Italian-English Division

Winner: Mariasole Osella, British International School of Chicago South Loop

Honorable mention: Maria Teresa Valentini, Lycée Français de Chicago

Polish-English Division

Winner: David Ksiazkiewicz, Niles North High School

Honorable mention: Paul Maslany, Westmont High School

Honorable mention: Gabriela Carpenter, Addison Trail High School

Swedish-English Division

Winner: Ornina Odicho, Maine West High School

Honorable mention: Orshina Odicho, Maine West High School

Ukrainian-English Division

Winner: Anastasiia Pankiv, Adlai E. Stevenson High School

Joint honorable mention: Fedir Kyrychenko and Vasilisa Kyrychenko, Westmont High School

Honorable mention: Yurii Hladyk, MacArthur Middle School